FightTheSmears Smears Sarah Palin?


The official Obama campaign site dedicated to defending Obama from smears (like his long time membership is a racist afrocentric church, his long time association with an unabashed terrorist, and his hand in glove dealing with convicted felons — vile smears all of them) looks to have been working overtime on a smear campaign of its own.

The details are at Little Green Footballs. It will give you a preview of what we will be up against for the next couple of months as it becomes obvious there is no lie too big and not smear too disgusting for the Obama campaign to spread.

Category: , , ,

RSS feed | Trackback URI

11 Comments Leave a comment

Not really true

CaliRepublican_007 Saturday, August 30th at 4:34PM EDT (link)

Disappointing I know but I just went through the same steps as Little Green Footballs and if you know anything about advanced networking and domain purchases it falls apart.

Just want to keep us on the right side of things. This site, to me anyway, has a higher standard than Little Green Footballs.

Not to fret, we have enough to knock him with already.

that's your view

Streiff Saturday, August 30th at 4:40PM EDT (link)

and, of course, you are entitled to it.

I think it is a very serious allegation, it is well in line with what we know of the Obama campaign, and it needs to be investigated.

And thanks for making me the subject of the second comment you’ve made in your 15 minutes since registration.

“A man does what he can and endures what he must.”

Think you are right

olderthangandalf Saturday, August 30th at 4:46PM EDT (link)

Based on Whois data, the sarahpalingayrights.com seems to be hosted by 1and1.com. You can get sites hosted there for $2 a month.

The BarackObama.com site, for which the fightthesmears is just a subdomain, seems to be hosted at domaincontrol.com.

It would be beyond idiotic for the Obama campaign to do this, given their support of gay rights and Palin’s rather clear opposition to gay rights. That’s not to say that it is automatically untrue, because people in campaigns rather frequently do idiotic things.

 
 
 

Facts not views

CaliRepublican_007 Saturday, August 30th at 4:47PM EDT (link)

I would hope that before you made a serious allegation you would actually check your facts.

I invite you to google domain tracing techniques. Its very easy to find the origination.

"Advanced networking?"

Neil Stevens Saturday, August 30th at 4:47PM EDT (link)

Heh.

Want to run for conservatives? Give.
There Is No Crisis

If you'd stop trying to sound smart, you'd sound smart (nt)

Neil Stevens Saturday, August 30th at 4:54PM EDT (link)

Want to run for conservatives? Give.
There Is No Crisis

Hey CaliRepublican, it's a "fact" not a "view" that an inability to use that big "Reply to This" link in front of your face....

Jeff Emanuel Saturday, August 30th at 4:55PM EDT (link)

…means you have too low an IQ to participate in this site. One more chance, and you likely won’t be welcome to comment here any more.

JE

and I would invite

Streiff Saturday, August 30th at 4:58PM EDT (link)

you to apply your stunning intellect and knowledge of “advanced networking” to making your case rather than parroting a pretty lame talking point.

I’m sure your cogent analysis would be useful at LGF where that discussion is underway.

“A man does what he can and endures what he must.”

I checked the IPs

olderthangandalf Saturday, August 30th at 5:02PM EDT (link)

Just out of curiosity, I went to a website that purports to give the IP addresses of sites. Here’s what I got:

http://www.selfseo.com/findipaddressofa_website.php

The IP address of SARAHPALINGAYRIGHTS.COM is 74.208.74.232
The IP address 74.208.74.232 is assigned to Great Britain (UK)

The IP address of barackobama.COM is 66.39.143.229
The IP address 66.39.143.229 is assigned to United States

The IP address of fightthesmears.COM is 216.239.36.21
The IP address 216.239.36.21 is assigned to United States

There are other ways to check IP addresses. If you have the time, you can do it from your command line using the PING command.

Couple of other things.

One, it would be easy and credible for a misguided Obama supporter to put up this site on their own. It would be a good bit harder given the centralized Obama IT structure to get access to the main Obama campaign server. If it turns out, against the evidence I see so far, to actually be on the Obama server, that would be a pretty big deal. The domain seems to have been registered and the site launched August 29, btw.

Two, the argument the page makes is misleading. To avoid wasting state fees on litigation she would have lost, Palin vetoed a bill that certainly would have been overturned by the courts. It says nothing about her position on gay rights. As a policy matter, she has been consistent in opposing gay marriage or any preferences.

Not to beat this to death, but

olderthangandalf Saturday, August 30th at 5:23PM EDT (link)

It’s a pretty simple HTML trick to forward any web page you control to another web page you don’t control. You simply put a meta refresh tag in the page’s html code, and the visitor gets transferred to the other page. You need to control the originating page, but you do not need to control the destination page.

To wit, anyone with a web page could forward visitors to that web page on to Redstate. They could, if they wished, put up some odious URL, run some Google ads to attract people, and have it redirect here. That people ended up here would say nothing about Redstate’s knowledge of or participation in the original URL.

That applies to anyone, and could apply here.

Again, I don’t know what’s going on with the sites referenced, but the fact that you end up at an Obama destination is a good bit short of proof of Obama campaign involvement in the originating URL.

Sorta kinda have to agree with CARep

Steph C Saturday, August 30th at 5:36PM EDT (link)

Just because the domains points to the same web server and the same domain name suppliers doesn’t mean it’s the same person. OTOH, how many times would you come across two sites so related on the same web server with the same domain name server?

Coincidental? I think not, especially when there are several other related sites also with the same IP and same webserver. However, I wouldn’t be able to say that it is proof positive based on the information given… Just as LGF stated in their article.

Oh, and dnsstuff.com will give you all that information without going through Google. It’s a lot faster.

“[I]f the public are bound to yield obedience to laws to which they cannot give their approbation, they are slaves to those who make such laws and enforce them.” –Candidus in the Boston Gazette, 1772
Hillbilly Politics

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a Comment

 

Be respectful, or be banned. No Profanity.